It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:15 pm

finding stuntman for your films 

Post finding stuntman for your films
Hello I am a filmmaker and actor/stuntman myself. I shoot mainly action films. Now here's my question. It is fairly easy to find actors who will work for free since this is the nature of the business. But, are there stuntmen who are willing to work for free, nothing dangerous. I just need to shoot a few fight scenes. If so is there any websites where I can find stuntmen willing to work for free. I would prefer to have stuntman who also possess the actor training since my films also happens to be dialogue heavy. Thanks in advance.

Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:25 am

Post Re: finding stuntman for your films
[Sorry if this drags on...]

Where are you located? That will play a big factor..

Stunt people that work for free are hard to come by, as not many stunmen/women want any of their peers to know they work for free. Free work is heavily frowned upon, and really undercuts the whole business. This is usually where independent productions go wrong. If you want good quality action in your project, a budget for stunt people is one of the most important things you need to focus on finding. I've done free gigs and I've done low paying gigs, and let me tell you.. if there is even 50-100 bucks in it for the performers at the end of the day, they will give better performances and feel a connection to your project.

Also don't advertise to people that you are trying to get stuntmen to work for free, or that you yourself will work for free, as that will reflect negatively on your career down the line.